SC2: US-India Smart and Connected Communities Workshop

June 9-11, 2016, IIT Delhi

Smiley face

Dr. V. K. Saraswat

Dr VK Saraswat is full-time member of newly established National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog. Dr. Saraswat, a Ph.D. in Combustion Engineering, started his career in DRDO in 1972 at the Defence Research and Development Laboratory (DRDL), Hyderabad and was responsible for the development of country's first Liquid Propulsion Engine, DEVIL. As Project Director of Prithvi, he steered the design, development, production and induction of the first indigenous Surface-to-Surface missile system into the armed forces. He is regarded as one of the key scientists in the team of former President of India, Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, who himself was the Secretary, Department of Defence R&D, DRDO HQrs and is considered to have a deep influence on him.

Dr Saraswat pioneered the concept of theatre defence system and integration of national Air Defence elements. He was Director,Research Centre Imarat (RCI) before taking over as CCR&D(MSS) in November, 2005. He established facilities for design, production and testing of engines. Under the able leadership of Dr Saraswat, India has embarked on a challenging, futuristic Air Defence Programme encompassing development of complex anti-ballistic missile systems, radars, and integration of battle management resources into a national authority. He conceptualised and established facilities for development of Micro and Nano Sensors for future avionics.

Dr Saraswat is fellow of National Academy of Engineering, Aeronautical Society of India, Astronautical Society of India, and Institution of Engineers. He is a member of governing council of SAMEER and member of Board of Research of AICTE, CSIR labs, and board of studies of Osmania University. Dr Saraswat is the recipient of DRDO Scientist of the Year Award - 1987, National Aeronautical Prize - 1993, DRDO Technology Transfer Award - 1996 and Performance Excellence Award - 1999. For his outstanding contributions to the Nation, he has been conferred with Padma Shri in 1998.He was also conferred with Padma Bhusan by the Govt. of India in 2013.